Poem a Day Challenge Day 8: An Instructional Poem

Standard

Untitled

I once was a workbook nerd
It mattered not how many pages
the teacher posted on the board to do
I was ahead because, you see,
I once was a workbook nerd.

As I progressed in school
Soon workbooks gave way
to endless packs of notebook paper
awaiting the notes I’d take

But I never wrote fast enough
and I was still a workbook nerd

I think what did it for me
was ripping out the perforated pages
filled with work of which I was proud
It signaled completion

to see that workbook become
thinner and thinner as days wore on
It made me happy
and I’m still a workbook nerd – at least in my heart.

 

Leave a Reply

