Fun: On Cheating and Stickers

Standard

It’s confession time. I did my “homework” the other night and I “cheated.”

Rather than rubbing my temples and playing “eenie-meenie-miney-mo” in the voting booth my husband and I take a different approach. I had been so caught up in pre-planning and back-to-school-mode this week I had forgotten about an impending Voting Day.

I reminisce a lot about Voting Days. I have fond memories of my parents dragging me and my two sisters to the polls when they voted. The running joke between them was that they wondered aloud WHY they voted. “We probably just cancel out each other’s vote,” they’d chuckle.

 

Talk about homework. I read all these articles to help me prep for voting this week.

Recently, my husband announces after dinner that the big day cometh. He pulls out our official “sample” ballot and lays lots of cutout newspaper articles on the table. Together we sift through them, reading and contemplating – individually, of course. We wouldn’t want to cancel out each other’s votes! It was a lot of work. There were editorials. Interviews. Trying to forget the 9 bajillion derogatory pre-recorded phone calls we received. I’m thinking the “do not call registry” goes on vacation during voting season. If not, it certainly seems that way.

Back to the homework. When the sample ballots arrived they landed on top of our computer desk. As endorsement articles and other voter education information ran in the paper, my husband faithfully clipped them, adding to the stack. Homework night might have been the night before the real deal but I knew the last thing I planned to do was march myself into my voting precinct and spend time “Christmas treeing” the options. In case the term is unfamiliar, Christmas treeing is what students taking tests on bubble sheet answer forms call it when they color in the bubbles to make a design.

Nope. My “cheating” would be productive because it meant that my little “sample” ballot would go with me into the booth where I’d just copy the answers. With races ranging from school board members and local judges to state and national legislative positions, the choices were too many for me to memorize anyway.

Yep and according to the automatic vote counting machine, I was number 38. No special significance there but I must say freedom never felt so good! Besides, I like wearing my “I voted” sticker.

3 thoughts on “Fun: On Cheating and Stickers

  1. Connie

    Political calls are not exempt from the Do Not Call Registry…. oh how I wish they were. This election slipped up on us as well. This is the first time in a long time that we didn’t do early voting. And, if taking your sample ballot in is what you consider cheating, then Don and I have been doing that for quite some time…. Just wait, we get to do it again in November.

    Like

  2. Ronny McCaskill

    Every vote really does count, even the uninformed ones. Thank you for sparking us to be directional in our voting!
    Love to all,
    Ronny

    Like

Leave a Reply

