FAITH: Dare to Dance

Standard

William W. Purkey“You’ve gotta dance like there’s nobody watching,
Love like you’ll never be hurt,
Sing like there’s nobody listening,
And live like it’s heaven on earth.”  ―    William W. Purkey

I’ve been thinking a lot lately about dancing. Not any particular type specifically but just what dance can do. Dance can tell stories. Dance can provide exercise. It can be silly – or vulgar – or a community effort like the Macarena or line dancing. I’ve seen videos of servicemen doing the Cha-Cha slide. I am old enough to have seen the world premiere of Michael Jackson’s Thriller video –  and most of the time I think I don’t have time to dance.

To be honest, for the last 20 months – since my sister graduated to glory –  I haven’t felt like dancing about anything. But today, the sun is pointing me in a new direction and two scriptures I’ve read for years are now grabbing my hands and pulling me out into the open to dance in celebration of life.

You might even be familiar with the “A Time for Everything” writing in the book of Ecclesiastes 3 from the Old Testament (or first section) in the Bible.

It begins like this:

Verse 1: There is a time for everything and a season for every activity under heaven:

Verse 2: a time to be born and a time to die, a time to plant and a time to uproot,

Verse 3:  a time to kill and a time to heal, a time to tear down and a time to build,

Verse 4: a time to weep and a time to laugh, a time to mourn and a TIME TO DANCE….

I’m stopping here but the next four verses finish the poetic passage. It’s last line is a time for war and a time for peace. Has your spirit been at war for a while? Maybe it’s time for peace – or do I dare say it – dancing?

In Psalms Chapter 30, verse 11, the Bible says:

You [God] turned my mourning into dancing; you removed my sackcloth [clothing to show mourning] and clothed me with joy;

Verse 12: that my heart may sing to you and not be silent. O Lord, my God, I will give you thanks forever.

I’m thinking it’s time for peace and dance to reign supreme – and for me to thank God forever for who He is! That’s one reason I chose to include this video link. It made me think, “Hey. That guy should be ME dancing through ALL the seasons of life.” Life has provided my lessons for dancing. Join me!

So. Are you in?

I found the video link below this week while researching. Aside from the amazing photography and the matching music, I marveled at the four-minute-long visual vacation. It made me want to dance on top of my weed covered garden, to run down my street pumping my fists in the air like Rocky and well, maybe even mow my grass AGAIN this week!

The type of dance I’m discussing is celebratory in nature. It creates a desire to have others join in to express their joyfulness. It’s not immodest. It’s freeing and it seems to speak a language that no words can adequately describe.

http://blog.bookmarket.com/2011/06/dance-like-no-one-is-watching-next.html

7 thoughts on “FAITH: Dare to Dance

  1. Leora Legacy

    Yes, I am ready to dance again! I just have to get my knee in shape so I can really do those Michael Jackson moves. (ha!)
    Leora

    Like

Leave a Reply

