Fun: Day 30: An After I Leave Here Poem

Standard

Day 30: For today’s prompt, write an “after leaving here” poem. This poem could be about leaving an actual place, a relationship, or even this challenge. We leave many places and things every day without much ado, including rooms, vehicles, people (both those we know and complete strangers), etc. And to make this poem even more interesting is that there is presumably something that will be done after the leaving, whether that’s something fun, sad, hopeful, or whatever. (source: poeticasides.org)

 After Leaving Here

I’ll start the month of May
Celebrate my husband’s birthday
Marvel that another year of marriage has passed
Hug my mommy
Attend my youngest son’s last band concert
And then his high school graduation
I’ll see him move on with life in confidence
And head to college

Then I’ll hug my daddy
And start school fulltime so the State will say
“You are a professionally certificated teacher”
And my oldest son will turn 20 the day before fireworks

And who knows what else after that?
Maybe a nap

Leave a Reply

