Fun: Day 27: In the (blank) of (blank) Poem

Standard

Day 27: For today’s prompt, take the phrase “In the (blank) of (blank),” replace the blanks with a word or phrase, make the new phrase the title of your poem, and then, write your poem. Some possible titles might include: “In the Heat of the Night,” “In the Heat of the Moment,” “In the Middle of a Heated Argument,” etc. Of course, you don’t have to use the word “heat” in your poem title. (source: poeticasides.org)

 In the Time of Karen

In the Time of Karen
She called me “sissy” because it was shorter than sister.
And more fun and less formal
And she listened more than any sibling should ever have to listen

In the Time of Karen
She heard of my dreams
And my struggles
And about my need to write

In the Time of Karen
There was garlic salted popcorn
Way too many pictures for scrapbooks
A laugh that shook me back to reality so I could join

In the Time of Karen
There were children being born close in time to mine
And living down the street from one another
And picnics with our babies so they could “play together”

In the Time of Karen
There were moves far away to minister
And Bailey Family Vacations
A tradition of memories and tshirts to commemorate them

In the Time of Karen
Sickness attacked
Stole her dignity
And she kept teaching us lessons about choosing faith over fear.

In the Time of Karen
She maintained her sense of humor
And rolled her eyes when mine met hers
As an unspoken “sister language” said what we really thought.

In the Time of Karen
I recalled us playing Candyland as girls
And as grownups Dominoes and Yahtzee replaced Monopoly
because it disrupted peace in the family universe.

In the Time of Karen
I hopped onto her hospital bed
Watched nothing on the TV
And knew the moments still mattered.

In the Time of Karen
People she didn’t even know donated 46 pints of blood in her honor
I knew that others lovingly kept from visiting
So we could talk, and pray and sit

In the Time of Karen
She told us to go home
She was tired of saying goodbye
She wanted silence and her lifelong love

In the Time of Karen
Her twin, mom and I simply vanished into a waiting room
As her children went home to be tucked in by friends
And her time began

In a home called Heaven
In a place I can’t see
But in one I know exists
Because God said He is The Way, The Truth, The Life

In the Time of Karen
I became who I am today
I hope she’s happy with the result.

Leave a Reply

