Fun: Poem a Day Challenge 2011

Standard

April is National Poetry Month. As such, I am participating in a challenge to write a poem a day. If you’d like to try your hand at poetry writing, it’s simple. Prompts are provided but you don’t have to follow them. It’s FREE (my favorite price) and it encourages me to become a stronger poet. For more information see poeticasides.com.

For Day 1, the suggestion was to write a poem about how you got here. You can interpret it anyway you wish. This was my approach.

How I Got Here

It all started with Sammy the Seahorse,

My illustrated report in third grade, when I discovered

How much I loved words.

It continued during adolescence

When my closest friend had hard covers,

Blank pages between them and a lock for safe keeping.

Then in high school, the journalism class

Won my heart for four years straight

Yet it pained me to forgo 8 years of accomplished piano playing.

Community college brought with it

More writing and though fatigued

I continued at it because journalism defined me.

And at 20, at a university known for national writing awards

I began my studies and before long

Pomp and circumstance played and I smiled.

On my own, I moved to Jacksonville, Florida

Where I worked as the youngest copy editor

And I loved the newspaper life.

Subsequent experiences came and went –

A statewide medical society, a national insurance company

And now a middle school classroom teaching expository writing.

And I love it –  that’s how I got here.

DAY 2: April 2

Prompt: Write a “postcard poem.”

 

 

I was there. (source:digitaldesert.com)

Snow. Stone. Trees. Sand.

 

Layers of history. Their beauty a mystery.

From rim to rim – anything but grim.

It’s grand. I’m at the canyon.

 

 

How I Got Here

 

It all started with Sammy the Seahorse,

The illustrated report in third grade, when I discovered

How much I loved words.

 

It continued during adolescence

When my closest friend had hard covers,

Blank pages between them and a lock for safe keeping.

 

Then in high school, the journalism class

Won my heart for four years straight

Yet it pained me to forgo 8 years of accomplished piano playing.

 

Community college brought with it

More writing and though fatigued

I continued at it because journalism defined me.

 

And at 20, at a university known for national writing awards

I began my studies and before long

Pomp and circumstance played and I smiled.

 

On my own, I moved to Jacksonville, Florida

Where I worked as the youngest copy editor

And I loved the newspaper life.

 

Subsequent experiences came and went –

A statewide medical society, a national insurance company

And now a middle school classroom.

 

And I love it.

 

That’s how I got here.

Leave a Reply

