FAITH: A Face-to-Face Reminder

Standard

No, this isn't me! It's good to be able to breathe uninterruptedly at night, though, even if I do have to go to the pulmonologist.

I don’t mean to be a problem child but I am.

It’s been two years since I’ve seen my pulmonologist and the only reason I went on my day off was because I was having technical difficulties with one of my supplies. I walk into the DME office – that’s medical lingo for durable medical equipment. Yes, I am a user.

 Sleep apnea has its own set of supplies and well, I needed some new ones. Here’s the kicker, though. I’ve been a frequent flyer in the office long enough to know a friendly face when I see one. There she was – Keitha. Her eyes always gleam with what seems like an internal happiness. She’s a good listener and she was going to help me get a few replacement items.

“What’s your last name?” she asked.

“Lemine,” I responded.

“Cheryl?” she said to my surprise.

“Yes and can I have a few of your memory cells?” I said jokingly.

Man, I was amazed. She hadn’t seen me in two years and she knew who I was.

Aside from Keitha’s extraordinary eyes, which were beautiful, I almost dropped my chops when she pulled my first name out from nowhere. Either I had made a REALLY bad impression on the staff in years past and had a rep OR she has a REALLY impressive ability to remember. No matter the reason. My little brain said, “It’s about time you got back to the office and got what you needed and see – someone there really knows who you are.”

Now pardon me if you think I draw too many spiritual conclusions from not-so-random encounters but after my business was complete with Keitha, I left thinking, “She reminds me of Jesus. He NEVER forgets a name.” I’ve been especially glad the last few months that Jesus really does remember my name and that I’m important to Him. No, I don’t have the corner on closeness, but I do know that YOU are equally as important to Him.

Scripture says He numbers the hairs on our head (that’s taking less time as years go by if you know what I mean!); He knows our comings and goings; He is close to the brokenhearted. I could go on and on but I think you get the idea. It’s just like Jesus to use an ordinary interaction to put a physical expression of His love straight in my face!

I’m glad Keitha was at work that day. She taught me an important lesson probably without even realizing it!

Just wondering:
What are your thoughts? Tell me how Jesus has inspired you through an average interaction.

3 thoughts on “FAITH: A Face-to-Face Reminder

  1. Dear Cheryl, as always enjoy your blogging so much! My family and I were making a similar type of observation just last night. We feel certain that the custodian at K’s school is a God lover just by the way he behaves. He doesn’t have to say a word – it just shines through! And a couple months ago I was at a business meeting and felt a similar assurance from the security guard at a nationally known company. She just smiled and was welcoming in a job that many people would just mumble their ways through. In fact they do. Makes me wonder … do people see glimpses of His love through me? “To be like Jesus, this hope posesses me … ” But I can’t imagine I am as “there yet” as these two individuals who show his love and kindness while serving in positions many would consider and would indeed relfect the dole drums.

    Like

  2. Cinda Voiles

    I’m so glad that you draw spiritual conclusions from everyday interactions. Not only is it evidence of your close relationship with our Lord, but it reminds me that He’s always with me as well. I love you!

    Like

Leave a Reply

