Fun: Time Matters

Standard

My morning ritual.

Five and a half minutes.

I can do a lot in that time. While my morning “old-fashioned”oatmeal is merrily microwaving at 50-percent power, I can fill up my half gallon water cup for the day. Get the morning paper. Pack my lunch.

Today I emailed my sister, paid a fee for my son’s school music program and signed a few permission forms saying he’d behave himself. That’s a given. Saw him out the door. Locked it behind him.

Anyway, I’m not crazy about oatmeal but I add vanilla protein powder and toss in a few blueberries. That makes my food logs happy, the scale not work so hard and me look forward to shopping for smaller sizes.

Back to my oatmeal. My husband calls it “porridge.” He doesn’t know what he’s missing.

Life is like that sometimes. We have a few minutes here and a few minutes there. I’m learning to lasso those suckers and make them count. Life is marching forward and whoever coined the phrase “spending time” really understood its value. Once it’s gone. It’s gone.

Most times I find I simply need action and not more analysis. Other times it’s reversed. All I know is that I’m glad I have the time I do. I want to spend it well.

How will you spend yours today?

Gotta go. Oatmeal’s ready.

Leave a Reply

