FAITH: Love is Action

Standard

I’ve seen a lot of videos in my day.

Family movies WITHOUT sound. On reels, using a projector and shown onto a blank wall for all to see – usually at family gatherings.  In black and white but still potent nonetheless.

Family movies WITH sound. So much motion and sound that it’s embarrassing to admit that we hardly ever watch them because it’s not so convenient. In color and valuable to the family archives.

And then technology. I try to avoid it as best I can but incorporate its use to make life easier. The two video clips you will see (youtube links) will give you a new insight and appreciation as to how spiritual encouragement and support can travel and connect the many miles between those in them and those viewing them.

Here’s what I mean:

Almost a month ago I saw two videos that caused me to cry – tears of compassion, tears of joy, tears of stress relief and tears of thankfulness. They weren’t of people playing jokes on one another, the latest Bon Qui Qui episode or of a favorite music group performance.

These are videos that demonstrate and define Christlike love in action – from a hospital parking lot and from within my sister’s hospital room in Naples, Florida.

As you watch these videos, I hope they will enable you to consider your own personal faith and if it is not built on the foundation of Jesus Christ, I hope you will consider who He is.

Beth Moore, a Bible teacher, pretty much sums it up for us in a simple pledge of faith containing five statements. It’s the jumping off point of  her study titled Believing God. It verbalizes well what my family and I hold dear – not simply due to my sister’s current health condition, but as an anchor for our souls as life happens in the smooth days and the not-so-smooth ones.

The following is what Beth calls the 5 Statement Pledge of Faith:

(1) God is who He says He is.

(2)  God can do what He says He can do.

(3)  I am who God says I am.

(4)  I can do all things through Christ who strengthens me.

(5)  God’s Word is alive and active in me.

Just wondering: What do you think about these videos in light of the 5 Statement Pledge of Faith?

Video 1: Outside in Hospital Parking Lot:

Video 2: Inside Karen’s Room:

2 thoughts on “FAITH: Love is Action

  1. Connie Brian

    Based on the updates we have been receiving on the great progress Karen has made in the last few weeks, it appears that the prayers from that night have come to fruition.

    We have a merciful God indeed….

    As we say at CRC, YEA GOD!

    Like

    • Indeed. It reminds me of the verse my family memorized: Hebrews 10:25: Let us hold unswervingly to the hope we profess because HE WHO PROMISED is FAITHFUL (to not let you go, to be with you, to help your sister’s health issues, and more than we ever know or realize.)

      Like

Leave a Reply

