Fun: Travel

Standard
  • NOTE: Summertime + holidays = travel.
    The poem below is one I wrote in the 2009 Writer’s Digest Poem a Day Challenge. Enjoy!
     

The car trips to see my grandparents were magical.
Traveling before the sun woke up.
4 a.m., my parents said,
Is when we’d leave. 

My parents knew the secret to a successful road trip: sunrise.

 

Rolling out of bed
in our jammies,
staking out a spot
In the car and going back to sleep. 

Just the way my parents liked it. 

Peace, at least for a couple hours,
Before the three of us awoke. 

“She looked at me.”
She touched me.”
“She’s on my side.” 

 Yep, 4 a.m. was a good plan.
And now that I’m a parent,
I see the wisdom in starting early,
But can’t get out of bed to do it. 

– Cheryl B. Lemine

Leave a Reply

