FAMILY: Of Geese and Dental Visits

Standard

The geese made me think about my life and roles.

I’m in the middle of a 3-month-long treatment to correct my shifting teeth. How dare they after I endured braces from 4th through 9th grades and oral surgery to remove 11 teeth!

So here I am at 7:30 a.m. one morning in the dental chair before I get to school to wrap up my first year teaching Expository Writing to middle school students.

I love visiting my dentist – seriously.

There’s a picture window at the foot of each chair over looking a pond in the office complex. Last month, I got to see three baby geese napping in the grass outside the window and near the pond. It was like playing “I Spy” looking for their well camouflaged furriness among the outdoor scenery.

This month, I saw the same babies taking their morning trek across the pond – momma in front and papa at the rear. They swam almost nose to tail and employed a goofy bobbing type of motion as their made forward progress.

After the appointment, I stood up, snuck another peek out the window and saw another family, mama in front, papa in back and older babies – probably teens – making the same trip. This time, though, I noticed that the older babies enjoyed personal space and glided more smoothly across the water.

It made me think how much I have in common with geese and depending on your point of view that could be a good thing! Anyway, let me explain.

Almost nineteen years ago I became a mama – and almost two years later, again! I kept my little ones close at hand like the mother goose. Now those babies are wrapping up their teen years, having much more personal space, and experiencing increased personal responsibility. During the course of 24 hours, they usually manage to swim by – I mean text or call – so I know where they are but not always.

What happens when these babies are on their own?

I don’t know but I’m about to find out soon enough.

Stay tuned. If no one moves my personal pond I think I’ll be OK.

Just wondering: What is your story about undergoing, surviving and thriving during life changes?

6 thoughts on “FAMILY: Of Geese and Dental Visits

  1. Kelli Wheeler

    And how beautifully they are swimming because of your gentle spirit and parenting! They are two of the finest young men I have ever met! We need to get together and have lunch soon- Bailey wants you to explain the “car incentive” plan so she can have one like it!
    Love you!
    Kelli

    Like

Leave a Reply

