FAITH: Good News from Way Back in the Book

Standard

I don’t know about you, but I rarely dig immediately into Old Testment books – except for Psalms and Proverbs. I hang out in those books a lot – probably because they’re so poetic.

However, last week, was different. For some reason, my Bible sat open on my kitchen table to Isaiah 33.

I wish I could say I was studying that chapter, but I wasn’t. I wish I could say I was preparing heavy duty biblical homework for a Bible study, but I wasn’t. I wish I could say I was being spiritual enough to even memorize, but I wasn’t.

Isn’t it great that what WE aren’t, God IS?

I’m thinking now it was because God wanted to teach me more about Himself in Bible location I don’t ordinarily visit.

Even though Isaiah is Old Testament, it had a new message for me.

May this scripture encourage you in a specific area of your life. The italics are my thoughts. Hope they won’t distract you!

Here it is!

The Lord WILL BE the SURE foundation
for YOUR times (no matter what they bring – health, sickness, surprise, predictability, fill in the blank!)
a rich store of salvation
(from inferior thoughts, depression, from inadequate spiritual vision, from being physically, emotionally and spiritually spent, etc.)
AND
WISDOM
(A daily need.)
AND
KNOWLEDGE
(Ditto!).
(He’s so good, he offers more than knowledge. Wow.)

The fear of the Lord is THE KEY
(not A key; it requires a choice on our part if we’ll fear him or not)
to this TREASURE.
(It’s not an inferior, temporary consolation prize; it’s a treasure from the Lord himself. Or maybe the treasure IS the Lord Himself! As a treasure – whatever it is – it’s valuable. Knowing the Lord, I’m sure this treasure has an eternal quality guarantee!)

From Isaiah 33:6.

Let’s acknowledge Him together!

Just wondering:
How has God used Old Testament scripture to help you understand more about Him? What’s YOUR favorite one and why?

3 thoughts on “FAITH: Good News from Way Back in the Book

  1. Jennifer C

    Hosea expresses God’s desire for his people to be faithful to Him, as well as His faithfulness when they are unfaithful.
    Hosea 6:6 “I want faithful love…
    I want people to know me…”
    Hosea 11:8-9 “My heart beats for you, and my love for you stirs up my pity. I won’t punish you in my anger,…I am God and not a human; I am the Holy One, and I am among you. I will not come against you in anger.”

    Like

  2. Wendy B

    Isaiah is just one of my favorite books of the bible. For some reason, it always speaks to me. For me, one of the most powerful passages in the bible is Isaiah 9:6-7 …I feel so humbled whenever I read it.

    Like

Leave a Reply

